Friday, 03 August 2018 06:21

“Konek-Tahan” responds for a culture of hate

Heeding the call to respond to the challenges of the times to give hope in a world full of hate and violence, the Archdiocesan Commission on Social Communications of the Archdiocese of Manila conducted a vicariate visitation called “KONEK-TAHAN”.

Konek-Tahan is a vicariate assembly aimed at encouraging and equipping the ministers/communicators in the parish to utilize their technical skills, develop creativity, and promote Catholic faith and values un parish and vicariate levels.

The ACSC is currently organizing and mobilizing parishes to actively participate in the Church’s evangelization through the mechanism of effective communication. 

Photo by Laureen Camille Jaring

On June 30, 2018, the ACSC conducted its first visitation in the vicariate of Espiritu Santo held at the Manila Cathedral School in Tayuman. The activity commenced with a Eucharistic celebration presided by Rev. Fr. Roy Bellen, 2nd Assistant Commissioner of ACSC and Director of the Archdiocesan Office of Communications (AOC).

The second visitation was in the vicariate of Loreto held at the University of Santo Tomas in España, Manila on July 29, 2018.

As vicariate coordinator of Loreto and parish priest of Santisimo Rosario, Fr. Louie Coronel, OP, expressed his gratitude to the commission for all the information they received during the meeting.

The Communicators in both vicariates participated actively in all the activities prepared by the commission. An open forum was held to allow them to express the various problems they encountered as well as the coverage of their work in the ministry.

At the end, Fr. Bellen said that the social communicators in the parishes are called to be “Salt and Light of the Earth,” (Matthew 5:13).  The SOCOM as “Salt” must be enhanced in order to stand out and become the “Light” that will shine and reflect the good works of Christ.

The Vicariate of Espiritu Santo is composed of the following parishes: Archdiocesan Shrine of Espiritu Santo, Immaculate Conception, Risen Christ, Saint Joseph, San Jose Manggagawa, San Rafael, San Roque de Manila, and Santa Monica while the Vicariate of Loreto is composed of Archdiocesan Shrine of Our Lady of Loreto, Most Holy Trinity, Nuestra Señora del Perpetuo Socorro, Nuestra Señora de Salvacion, Our Lady of Fatima, Sacred Heart of Jesus, Sanctuary of Saint Anthony of Padua, San Roque de Sampaloc, and Santisimo Rosario respectively. (Jheng Manalang Prado/RCAM-AOC)



Please, enter your name
Please, enter your phone number
Please, enter your e-mail address Mail address is not not valid
Please, enter your message
Copyright © 2017 Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Manila. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Disclaimer